top of page
  • Writer's pictureWCMP

State Wrestling Tournament Update

The Mora Mustang team was the consolation champions in the 2019 State Wrestling tournament with a 40-30 win over Totino Grace on Thursday night. The Mustangs lost to third place team Perham in the first round before defeating Foley in the consolation semifinals. Congratulations to the Mora Wrestlers on a great season!

Here is how the individuals faired:

Rush City-Braham

Daniel Mielke lost 11-1 in his first round matchup.

North Branch

Brandt Bombard won by decision in the first round 7-1. Then lost in the second round. He won his first in the wrestlebacks and then lost the second.

Josh Logan lost by fall in the first round.

Austin Sonnek lost 13-1 in first round.

Trevor Anderson lost by fall in the first round.

Brandon Swanson placed fifth in the 285 weight class.


Avery Nelson won first round in a 4-3 decision.

Tucker Hass lost 7-1 to Bombard from North Branch.

Ryan Nosbush won first round 9-2.

Jon Smith won 5-2 in first round.

Austin Voss lost first round 13-0.

Danny Schroeder won first round by fall.

Jake Nowling lost 8-4 in the first round.

Tanner Grangruth lost by fall in the first round.

Pine City/Hinckley-Finlayson

Will Fix lost by technical fall in the first round.

Justin Matson lost by fall in the first round.

Robert Decker lost by fall in the first round.


Tate Jorgenson placed third in the 152 pound weight class.

Jimmy Brown won first round by fall.

Wyatt Kruse lost first round 11-1.

Check back here as this post will be updated as the tournament goes along.

105 views0 comments
bottom of page